The Set of an Alfred Hitchcock Movie

There is a section of windy roads near my school that I love. They are old, twisting their way through old farms and abandoned houses. It feels like you are looking through a looking glass, seeing into a time that doesn’t exist anymore. While driving around today, we stopped at an old house in the woods. It was clearly abandoned (and had been for a long time). It was beautifully situated though, next to a little river and an old concrete bridge. Here are some photos I took while poking around.

housethroughbranches

HouseOpen Doorlockandnob

destroyed

sewingtape

There was a fair bit of random fabric and sewing odds and ends.

stairsdresser

brokenmusic

itiselectricmoon!

The magazine on the right talks about how amazing it is that this year, the USA is planning to go to the moon (!).

eatenbook2

eatenbook3small

shoe2CinderellaHeel

Doesn’t this look a bit like Cinderella’s slipper?

Wilson

This paper talks about Hoover being President. For those of you who are not History Majors or are not fluent in the ways of wikipedia, that means it is from 1929-1933. Isn’t that amazing?!

_MG_0187

The writing on the bunny says: “Sit up Bunny” and “This was Caitlin” and Upside Down?”.

eatenbook1

This last photo was taken a few feet away from the house – I guess the book had fallen out.

4 Comments

Filed under Photography

4 responses to “The Set of an Alfred Hitchcock Movie

  1. Ahh! These are so awesome! This house and the history it holds would be a great spin-off blog of its own.

    • modernselkie

      I’m glad you like them! And I agree! I just love how very… history-heavy the place is. It makes me want to do a blog about exploring old houses. 🙂

  2. Marshall

    To me, that picture with the bunny looks like the main character from Katamari Damacy.

    Actually, the only bunny feature I can make out is the whiskers.

    • modernselkie

      Haha!I love KD! Alas, I must admit, I don’t see it.

      As to the rabbit itself… Above the whiskers are the teeth. The bunny is grinning, and it only has on eye – the other was ripped off at some point. Personally, I find it rather creepy.

Leave a comment